Social Media

Brooklyn, New York - United States
House music found me at the age of 42...17 years later..it is still a major force in my life. Check out my label, Brooklyn BeatDown Music! https://soundcloud.com/brooklynbeatdownmusic

What's funny is that I never had any dreams or inclination of becoming a DJ whatsoever. Too scared of electricity and blown speakers. So here's the condensed version of my story. I am a househead who accidentally became a DJ because of my frustration of not finding the house music I wanted on cds. I started my journey late in the game (age 42) and spent 5 years learning to mix and playing music in my living room for my own enjoyment. I finally got the courage to play in public at an “Open Turntable” and, after appearing a few times, I was offered an opportunity to play during the breaks of the regular band and eventually advanced to playing 4 and 5 hour sets.

I was introduced to Social Media and podcasting shortly afterwards and have been on internet radio for the past 10 years. In 2012, I started a label (BluBlak Musik) with another producer (K-BlakK) and developed an interest in the production side of things.

In 2016, I decided to started my own label "Brooklyn BeatDown Music".

DJ Renay's Soulful House Sessions can be heard on the following internet radio stations:

MONDAY
LWR Radio - http://www.lwrradio.co.uk/ or http://tun.in/se0YM
Monday - 5pm EST, 10pm (UK), 11pm CET, Midnight CAT

TUESDAY
Soulmix Radio - http://tunein.com/radio/soulmix-radio-s246367/
Tuesday: 3pm EST, 8pm (UK), 9pm CET, 10pm CAT

AMYS FM - http://www.amysfm.com/ http://tunein.com/radio/Amys-FM-s119401/ Tuesday: 6pm EST, 11pm (UK), Midnight CET, 1am CAT

WEDNESDAY
AMYS FM - http://www.amysfm.com/ http://tunein.com/radio/Amys-FM-s119401/ Wednesday - 10am EST, 3pm (UK), 4pm CET, 5pm CAT

FRIDAY
AMYS FM - http://www.amysfm.com/ http://tunein.com/radio/Amys-FM-s119401/ Friday: 10pm EST, 3am (UK), 4am CET, 5am CAT

SATURDAY
LWR Radio - http://www.lwrradio.co.uk/ orhttp://tun.in/se0YM
Saturday - 3pm EST, 8pm (UK), 9pm CET, 10pm CAT

AMYS FM - http://www.amysfm.com/
Saturday: 6pm EST, 11pm (UK), Midnight CET, 1am CAT

SUNDAY
AMYS FM - http://www.amysfm.com/
Sunday: 5pm EST, 10pm (UK), 11pm CET, Midnight CAT

You can find my music at: https://soundcloud.com/brooklynbeatdownmusic and http://www.traxsource.com/artist/94986/dj-renay

Mixes can found at the following sites:
Soundcloud: http://soundcloud.com/dj-renay
Mixcloud: http://www.mixcloud.com/dj-renay
Hearthis.at - https://hearthis.at/djrenaysoulfulhousesessions/

Contact info:
Twitter: http://twitter.com/DJ_Renay
LinkedIn: http://www.linkedin.com/in/djrenay
Email: djrenay@gmail.com

People Following DJ-Renay - 129 See all

bobbyk
bobbyk
birmingham, United Kingdom
Follow
The-Jungle-Crew
The-Jungle-Crew
Oost- Vlaanderen, Belgium
Follow
wilson frisk
wilson frisk
yorkshire, United Kingdom
Follow
See more people following DJ-Renay

Comments - 20 See all

Deleted Comment
This comment has been deleted.
kelitokelitokelito
kelitokelitokelito 08 June 2014

Yeay ! A profile with a nice wee story - still to listen to anything but just thought I would mention my appreciation for your bio :) Its sunday morning ...im a wee bit drunk lol

Deleted Comment
This comment has been deleted.
gooeystuey
gooeystuey 13 November 2013

Big fan of yours DJ Renay even before i knew you were on House mixes, love your sounds and mixes, a true inspiration to all of us 40 something dj's, respect!

Deleted Comment
This comment has been deleted.
Sand B
Sand B 13 June 2013

see u on purerythm ;)

Deleted Comment
This comment has been deleted.
BMC1
BMC1 28 April 2013

Check out Doin It To The Maxx!!!

Deleted Comment
This comment has been deleted.
Axel Playa
Axel Playa 14 January 2013

Hi ! 42 mixes in only 15 days.You are really busy*LOL*Greets over the big pond:-)

Deleted Comment
This comment has been deleted.
BMC1
BMC1 02 January 2013

You play some nice music! A House Head Forever BMc!!!!

Deleted Comment
This comment has been deleted.
DJ Ralph
DJ Ralph 31 December 2012

happy new year Renee :-)

Deleted Comment
This comment has been deleted.
The-Track-Addict
The-Track-Addict 14 December 2012

congrats by the way on your partner ship with K BlackK. will be gettiong the alboum off of tracksource by weeks end. Peace

Deleted Comment
This comment has been deleted.
Houseconverse
Houseconverse 04 October 2012

Thanks for your comment :-)

Deleted Comment
This comment has been deleted.
DJ-Renay
DJ-Renay 28 February 2012

Thanks, AddictiveSolutions...I will :)

Deleted Comment
This comment has been deleted.
DJ D REDD
DJ D REDD 18 November 2011

im a houzhead too u got some great mixxes keep up the good wrk i got some deep stuff cheak out my mixxes 2 houznation:)

Deleted Comment
This comment has been deleted.
DJ-Renay
DJ-Renay 25 October 2011

Hi Alain, if one person is inspired then my job is one, lol. On the serious side, hang in there and do what puts a smile on your face. Eventually, you'll reach your destiny. If not, it still makes Life more enjoyable...and you can never say "What if"?.....thanks again.

Deleted Comment
This comment has been deleted.
AlainM
AlainM 25 October 2011

Hey Dj Renay your actually an inspiration to me. Im 41 and although Ive been mixing for years I never got a chance to spin at a real house club, mostly because outside of New York and Chicago there arent many clubs that cater to real soulful deep house music. After reading your profile I it gives me hope of spinning in a real house club Peace

Deleted Comment
This comment has been deleted.
DJ-Renay
DJ-Renay 25 October 2011

Thank you Noko and thanks for listening!

Deleted Comment
This comment has been deleted.
noko212
noko212 25 October 2011

thanks for some lovely MUSIC .. Noko SOUTH AFRICA

See more comments